The afternoon of 14 December was a special day for many artistes in the Nepali music industry. The 15th Annual Tuborg Image Award finally happened at the Army Officers’ Club after being postponed for nearly a month.


The first date for the much awaited Tuborg Image Award was fixed as Mangsir 1. Then came the elections and it was held off. But when it finally happened, it happened with a bang! The event did start way late, keeping the punctual crowd waiting. When the show kicked off, the event saw a hall crowded with the who’s who of the music and fashion industry. As tradition at this particular award function, they always manage to pull off a rather distinctive head start. This year Image Award had a emotional begining, which gave a heartfelt tribute to the legendary Fatteman Rajbhandari, whom we lost this year. Shortly after, Kutumba took on the stage and as expected gave a beautiful performance.

Once the award-giving began, there was no stopping the thunderous applause each winning artist received. Nisha Desar took home the award for the Best Female Vocal performer while Biswa Nepali won the Best Male Vocal performer award. The Best Album Award went to “Love Forever” by Basanta Chaudhary and Nhyoo Bajracharya, and the Best Pop Female Vocal Performer was awarded to Astha Raut for her song “Jhumkey Bulaki”. Similarly, Adrian Pradhan bagged the Best Pop Male Vocal performer for his song “Samjhana”.

The award ceremony was punctuated in between by musical performances by Aastha Raut, Milan Amatya, Nabin K. Bhattarai and Anil Singh that the audience enjoyed immensely. A dose of laughter in the musical evening was provided by Pramod Kharel who mimicked some of the most popular singers in the industry. His mimicry of Ram Krishna Dhakal and Himesh Reshammiya was absolutely brilliant, bringing tears of laughter to many in the audience.


It came as no surprise when the Best Music Video Director’s award went to Bhusan Dahal for the song “Budhes kaal”; a gifted artist indeed. “Badalharu” took home the Best Music Video Award. Urmila Kutu won the award of Best New Artist, “Timi Bahek ko cha ra mero” won the Best Song and Deven Giri won for the Best Lyrics. Amidst the 21 different categories, Hari Lamsal grabbed the Best Song Composition for the song “Pani ko foka jasto”.


The Best Song and Best Music Composition awards went to Rajendra Tandukar and Maharaja Thapa respectively. Rabin Sharma and Rochan Bhattarai accepted the Best National Song Award while the Best Folk Song Award went to Ganesh Neupane. The Best Duet song was won by Thaneshwor Gautam and Lila Budhathoki for their song “Salai Jiu”. Prabin Shrestha was announced the Best Music Video Editor, while Bidur Pandey got the Best Music Video Cameraman award. The Best Movie Sound Track award went to “Bato Modera” from the movie “Bindas”. The Public Choice Award, an award that was entirely dependent on the public’s vote was won by Rekha Shah and Kamal Khatri for their song “Najik chau”.

The ceremony not only gave awards to artists for their winning works but also honored soulful singer Pannakaji Shakya with a Life Time Achievement Award and a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh. Despite his illness, Shakya, the singer of the famous “Tiriri Murali Bajyo” graced the award ceremony with his presence and witnessed it for a few hours. His presence made the audience in the hall feel special which was quite evident in the way the artists spoke about him. Many artists congratulated and thanked Shakya for his valued contribution towards Nepali music.

When the show came to a close, it gave justice to the entire event. The show ended on an entertaining note, with a power-packed b-boying performance from Wild Ripperz. The annual Tuborg Image Awards has definitely set a bar for itself. The entire Nepali music community and event enthusiasts are definitely expecting a grander awards ceremony next year. !